top of page

3、1955年生まれ Born in 1955 生於一九五五年


 私は1955年生まれです。この年に生まれてしまったことで、やたらに歴史についてうるさいアーティストになってしまいました。なぜか?歴史に翻弄されてしまったからです。今の私は歴史に対して非常に批判的です。なぜか?翻弄された歴史の渦から逃れでることができたからです。逃れでることができたのは、ささやかな転機にギリギリの線で間違った選択をしなかったことと、何より運が良かったからです。今の私の選択が正しいものかどうかは、それこそ歴史が証明してくれることになるのでしょうが、かなりいい線をいっているのではないかと自負してますし、とくに若い人たちには私の方向もひとつの選択肢として冷静に見ることができるよう、いくつもの問題提起をしようと企んでいます。

I was born in 1955. As I was born in this year, I become an artist who always thinks about history. Why? I was tossed about history. Now I am critical about history. Why? I could leave from history that tossed me. The reason I could leave why I didn’t choose wrong decision in a small turning point. And also I was very lucky. My decision is correct or not, it will be proved by history. But I believe it’s not bad. For young people I will give many problem institutions to consider my decision as one of their choice.

我出生於1955年。因為出生於這個年代於是我變成一個對歷史過分囉唆的藝術家,為什麼?被歷史翻弄的關係現在的我對於歷史是極為批判的。為什麼?從被歷史翻弄的漩渦

從微小的轉機恰恰好沒有做錯選擇,比什麼都重要正因為運氣很好的關係。現在的我做的選擇是否正確,歷史應該會幫我來證明的吧,是一條好的選擇我有相當的自信,特別是對年輕人們朝著我走過的方向可以冷靜的去判斷的選擇,我有計劃想要提出幾個問題。

 さてすこし具体的に。

A little bit concretely

接下來我來具體的說

 私は絵が好きで、また得意でもあったので画家になりたいと思って美術系の大学を選びました。大学に入る前の美術の勉強は、とにかく実技の力を高めることでした。

As I liked painting and I was good at painting, I entered an art university. Before entering university my main study was drawing and painting.

我很喜歡畫畫 因為也是我得意的一項所以我想當藝術家

抱持著這個想法我選擇了美術系大學,在進入大學之前美術的學習就是對於繪畫實技的要求。

 大学に入ってする勉強は、どういう画家になるかを考えることが中心になりました。画廊を回って、どういう美術が今の美術かを自分の目で見る。そこに至るまでの歴史を勉強する。私が大学に入ったのは1973年です。ポップアートの次のコンセプチュアル・アートがいよいよ表に立ち出したころです。

After entering university my main study become thinking what kind artist I would be. I went to galleries to learn what kind of art was contemporary. I studied contemporary history. When I entered university, it was 1973. It was the age of conceptual art became to main stage after Pop-art.

進入大學後的學習主要是以想要成為什麼樣的藝術家為中心去思考,迴繞在畫廊、用自己的眼睛去判別怎麼樣的美術是現在的美術。我是在1973年進入大學,普普藝術的下一個觀念藝術也終於浮出。

 戦後、美術の中心はパリからニューヨークに移りました。過激なアクション・ペインティングから消費社会を基盤としたポップアートへ。ポップアートは、社会と美術の関係を考える、その回答が作品です。その流れから、美術自体を考えるコンセプチュアルが生まれます。

After World War 2 the center of art moved to New York from Paris. From radical Action Painting to Pop Art. Pop Art explores a relation between society and art. From this, Conceptual Art was born that considered about art itself.

戰後 美術的活動中心從巴黎轉到紐約。從來自激進的行為藝術消費社會為基盤的普普藝術。普普藝術是從社會和美術的關係去思考、而思考出來的結論就是作品本身。從那樣的演變思考美術本質的觀念藝術就這麼誕生了。

 1955年生まれの私たちは、このコンセプチュアル全盛の時代に自分の将来を決めなければならないことになってしまったわけです。ここにはささやかなメリットと大きなデメリットがありました。

We, that were born in 1955 had to choose our future when Conceptual Art was in its golden age. But their were positives and negatives to this.

出生於1955年的我們,在這個觀念藝術全勝的時代不得不去決定自己的將來。而這裡有微小的價值和巨大的損失。

 メリットは、コンセプチュアルは美術について考えるわけですから、これは若いアーティストにとってはとてもいい勉強になります。美術を根元から考える。私は、今でも若い時にこの時期を過ごせたことはラッキーだと思っていますし、今の若い人たちにもぜひ現代美術を歴史的な視野にたって勉強してほしいと思っています。ただ現代美術は、あくまで若いアーティストの出発点にとって意味があって、これを目標にすることは、私はあまり勧められませんが。

The positive was that it was a good study for young students, as Conceptual Art was thinking about art, thinking about the roots of art. Even now I think I was lucky, to be born in this age. I hope young students study contemporary art from a historical view. But contemporary art is a starting point, not a goal. I don’t recommend that they think contemporary art is their goal.

價值是觀念藝術是思考關於美術的、這對年輕的藝術家來說是一個很好的學習。從美術的根本去思考。我現在也覺得年輕時的我經過了這樣的時期是一件很幸運的事,我也希望現在的年輕人們務必學習用歷史性的視野去看現代美術。但是現代美術絕對是年輕藝術家的出發點的意思,要以這為目標我個人是不太推薦。

 大きなデメリットは、絵が描けなくなってしまったことです。

The negative was I became an artist who couldn’t paint.

 私は、美術の近代はクールベから始まったと思っています。クールベ自身の絵を描く技術は、ルネアンスの時代に発明された遠近法による空間表現と、明暗による立体表現という伝統を見事に継承する超保守的なものでした。それまでの美術がは王侯貴族やお金持ちの注文で作られていたことに彼は異を唱えました。自分が見たものしか描かない。主権が王侯貴族や教会から市民に移ったことを反映して、絵は絵を描く画家が主人になったわけです。自分の目で見えたものしか描かないということは、王侯貴族が欲しがった神話の世界は捨てられ、教会のための聖書も捨てられました。彼は絵の主題から物語を捨てました。

I think modern art began with Gustave Courbet. Courbet’s technic was very conservative. His perspective expressed space and shadowing to express volume. These techniques were invented in buy the Renaissance painters. He objected to painting that for the ruling class. He painted only what he could see. Sovereignty was moved from ruling class to citizens. He thought a master of painting had to move from ruling class to artist. He decided to paint something that he could see. It means that myth of the ruling class was abandoned. And the Bible was abandoned, too. He abandoned the story.

我認為美術的近代是由庫爾貝開始的。庫爾貝自己的畫技是根據文藝復興時期所發明的遠近法根據空間表現、明暗卓越的繼承超過保守的東西。到這為止的美術是王侯貴族和有錢人的要求去繪製而庫爾貝則提出異議。只畫自己看到的。主權從王侯貴族或宗教轉移到市民。畫家變成了畫作的主人。只畫自己眼前所看到的也就是說捨棄王侯貴族們所想要的神話世界捨棄了為了教會而存在的聖經。他把故事從畫的主題捨棄掉了。

 次の印象派は、クールベの写実主義のあとを受けて、どうやって目の前のものは見えるのかを研究しました。ものが見えるのは、ものに光が当たって、その反射の光が目に入ることで見える、つまり光を描くという方法論を打ち立てました。絵に光は感じられますが、もの自体の実在感は大きく失われることになりました。

Next generation was Impressionist, which researched how an object is seen, after Courbet’s Realism. People can see an object by its reflected light. So they made a method to paint light. We can feel light from their painting. But on their painting the sense of existence was lost.

接下來的印象派是接著庫爾貝的寫實主義研究了要怎麼樣看到眼前的事物,我們看到顯前的事物是因為光線照射在物體上,而物體的光線反射在我們眼裡,也就是說劃出光線的這個方法論就被提了出來。從畫中感受的到光線但物體也大大失去了存在感。

 ピカソを経由して、抽象が誕生すると目に見える現実は完全に捨てられます。

When abstract painting was born via Picaso, the reality that we can see was abandoned completely.

經由畢卡索抽象的誕生完全可以將可見的現實捨棄。

 美術は、どんどん純粋化する道を進みます。そしてついにコンセプチュアルで目の前に見える作品自体にも意味がなくなり、意味自体だけが残ることになります。これは王様が裸になるだけじゃなくて、肉を捨てて骨だけになって、やがて霊だけが残ったようなものです。誰かがどこかで王様は裸だよって言ってあげればよかったんですけどね・・・

Art advanced in a way, becoming more and more pure. At last Conceptual Art we can see has no meaning. Only concept exists. King becomes naked. And he abandoned flesh. Then he abandoned bone. At last sprit exists. People should say to the King “You are naked”

美術是漸漸地邁向純粹化的道路,觀念藝術消失了眼前作品的意義只留下意思本身。這不只是國王的新衣裡的國王赤裸著身體,連皮肉都捨去只剩下骨骸甚至只剩下靈魂的東西罷了。如果有人可以說出國王光著身子唷的話就好了呢…

 そしてついに当時の最先端のアーティストと目されていたフランク・ステラが「絵は死んだ」と死亡宣告を下しました。この時期と私がアーティストとして出発しようとした時期は重なります。

In 70’ Frank Stella the most advanced artist declared “Painting is dead”. This was the time when I wanted to begin as an artist.

然後終於觀念藝術於是當時最先端的藝術家法蘭克・史帖拉提出了’繪畫已死’之死亡宣言。這個時代和我決定以藝術家的身份出發的時期是重疊的。

 実際に絵は描かなくなりました。私と同世代の、真面目な若いアーティストは揃って絵を捨てました。絵を捨てなかったのは、当時時代遅れの無自覚な年寄りの集まりと私たちが考えた公募団体展に参加をしようとするごく一部だけでした。私たちには、年寄りに媚を売って画壇で出世をしたい、大学の先生になっていい思いをしたいという下心を持った連中にしか見えませんでした。今思えば、ごめんなさい、なんですけど。

In fact I stopped painting. Young serious artist of same generation abandoned painting. Some artists who didn’t abandon painting wanted to participate in big traditional associations, where artists were outdated and unconscious. We thought they curry the favor with old artists and they wanted to make a career to be university professors. Now I must say I’m sorry for them.

跟我同個世代認真的年輕藝術家聚集一塊把繪畫捨棄了。沒有捨棄繪畫的,是當時跟不上時代沒有自覺的年長者們和想參加公募團體展屬於極少數部分的我們而已。我們想在向年長藝術家獻媚的畫壇上出道,只有當大學的老師就好了抱持著這種心態的傢伙之外看不到別的了,現在回想起來,還真的覺得很抱歉。

 真面目に勉強して、歴史の必然性を信じて、過激になる。真面目な若い人ほど過激になる。これって何かの構図に似てませんか?そうです。ファシズムです。

To study seriously, to believe history inevitability becomes radical. Is this similar to something? Yes. It’s fascism.

認真的學習相信著歷史的必然性,變得激進。變得像認真的年輕人那般激進。不覺得跟什麼構圖很像嗎?沒錯,就是法西斯主義。

 私は、さいわいこの集団催眠から目覚めることができました。

Fortunately I could wake up from the group hypnosis.

我很慶幸自己從這個催眠集團中清醒。

 私の20台の発表はインスタレーションでした。それが、ひとつの展覧会で多くて数百人単位の人にしか見てもらえないで記録しか残らないことに引っかかりを感じていました。インスタレーションでやっていたことと同じ概念(コンセプトです)を版画に移すことに活路を見出しました。版画なら記録ではなく作品自体が残る。複数性からより多くの人に見てもらえる。そういうメリットもあります。

When I was 20, I worked with installation. I felt a catch that only hundreds people saw my work, and after only records remained. I found a way to carry that same concept and from installation to printmaking. My printmaking work won’t disappear. By plurality more people can see my work. This is the upside to printmaking.

我發表了20件的裝置藝術作品。讓我覺得很掛念的是只有留下一場觀展多的只有數百人為單位的紀錄,將做過了裝置藝術一樣的概念轉移到版畫上我看到了出路。如果是版畫的話就不單單只有紀錄而是留下作品本身。有著複數性的可以被很多人看到這樣的優點。

 面白いもので、当時の版画はコンセプトが全面に出た、大人になった私の目からは感情の乏しいいかにも若いアーティストの作品にしか見えないものですが、なにしろコンセプチュアルの時代ですから、版画の世界でもそこそこ評価を得ることができました。その評価のおかげで文化庁の奨学金をもらって留学できたのですから、やはり運がいいです。

Now I found my work at the time as a young artist’s work, that feeling and emotion are poor, as I become adult. But in 1970’ it was the age of Conceptual Art. I built a good reputation in the world of printmaking and received many prizes. I then received a scholarship from the Japanese government. I was lucky.

無論怎樣因為是觀念藝術的時代,在版畫的世界也算是獲得了一些評價。多虧了那些評價我得到了文化廳的獎學金然後就此去留學,果然真的是運氣很好。

 コンセプトを表現するために、私は緑のふつうの葉っぱをモチーフに使いました。版画は絵ですから描かなくてはいけません。今なら写真を使ってデジタル処理をするほうがふつうかもしれませんが、やはり描きたかったというのが本音かもしれません。描いてみると、私のちっぽけなコンセプトなんかより1枚の葉っぱのほうがはるかに豊かなことに気がつきます。ここが大きな分かれ道だったと思います。

To express my concept I used a very common green leaf. Print is a kind of picture. So I had to draw. Now it’s normal to use a photo and digital processing. But to tell the truth I wanted to draw. When I made a drawing, I found a leaf is much more rich than my small concept. I think it was a big turning point.

為了表現概念,我以普通的綠葉當作了創作的靈感,因為版畫也是繪畫。雖然現在的話利用相片數字化處理比較常見也說不定,果然我的心聲還是想畫出來也說不定,我意識到跟我極小的觀念比起來一片葉子遠遠的還要豐富。我認為這裡是一個很大的分歧點。

 その後は、留学を経て日本の文化を再発見し、クールべが脱ぎ捨てた物語を取り戻し、そして東洋の大人の芸がようやく理解できるようになった今日このごろ、です。

Then I found Japanese culture is important for me, when I studied in foreign countries. I continued story that Courbet abandoned. I can now finally understand adult’s Oriental art.

To express my concept I used a very common green leaf. Print is a kind of picture. So I had to draw. Now it’s normal to use a photo and digital processing. But to tell the truth I wanted to draw. When I made a drawing, I found a leaf is much more rich than my small concept. I think it was a big turning point.

在那之後經過了留學再次體悟了日本的文化,將捨棄掉庫爾貝的故事再次拾起,終於理解東洋的藝是怎麼一回事的今天這個時候。


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page