top of page

Movies-4 (genre) 映画−4(ジャンル)


Dear Po,

親愛なるポー

Now I'm in hospital again. I stay here from May 1st. It's the third times in 2018. My condition is not stable. Fortunately there is no cancer in my body. But another problems happened one after another. I should stay here until the end of May or the beginning of June. I must pass long time without movies. It's one of the biggest problems for me.

 私はまたまた入院しています。ここには5月1日からいます。これは2018年に入ってから3回目です。私の体調は安定しません。さいわい、体の癌はまったくありませんが、別な問題が次々と現れます。ここには今月末か6月の最初まではいなくてはなりません。私は長い時間、映画なしですごさなくてはいけません。これが私にとっては大きな問題です。

First of all I must tell you that I changed my mind about "Cicario". I think it's a good entertainment and also a good art film. I agree with you. It must be called a film. It is that many weeks ago that I saw it. And then I saw some another movies. But even now it stays in my mind.

 まず私は「ボーダーライン」に対する私の考えが変わったことをお知らせします。私は、それはいい娯楽であり、同時にいいアートだと思っています。私はあなたに賛成です。私はフィルムとよぶべきだと思います。それを見たのは数週間前です。そしてそれから私は別な映画も見ています。しかし、それはいまだに私の心に残っています。

I looked for another Denis Villeneuve's films like "Prisoners" or "An Enemy". I know these two films. I suppose I saw the DVD some months ago. But now I couldn't find them. Everything especially art is consumables.

 私はドゥニ・ヴィルヌーヴの別なフィルム、たとば、「プリズナーズ」、「複製された男」などを探しています。私はこのふたつのフィルムは知っています。数ヶ月前、たしかDVDショップで見かけたことがあると思います。しかし、今は見つからない。何もかも、とくにアートは消耗品です。

By the way in Japan recently artist means a popular music singer. In Taiwan, also? Though contemporary visual artists' life is very short, popular singers' life is long. When I was young people said life short but art is long. Now it's opposite. I'm sure that contemporary art is for only snob people. For them new is the most important. So they throw away current value as soon as they find new thing.

 ところで、最近の日本ではアーティストはポピュラー音楽の歌手のことを意味します。台湾でもそうですか?現代美術のアーティストの寿命が短いのにたいして、ポピュラー音楽の歌手の寿命は長い。私が若いころは、人生は短し、されど芸術は長し、と言ったものですが。今は、正反対です。私は、それは、現代美術がスノッブたちのためであるからだと思います。彼らにとっては新しさこそが最も重要です。そこで彼らは新しいものを見つけた瞬間、今の価値は捨て去ってしまいます。

Now in Japan there is a few room for real arts (not fashion) to exist. I couldn't find DVDs you recommended like "Brimstone", "The Ballad of Lefty Brown", "The Killing of a Sacred Dee", etc. But I found "Mother". I will see it.

 今の日本には、(流行ではない)本当のアートが存在できる隙間はほとんどありません。あなたが勧めてくれたDVD、たとえば「Brimstone」、「The Ballad of Lefty Brown」や「The Killing of Sacred Dee」といった。しかし、「Mother」は見つけることができました。すぐに見るつもりです。

I have already seen "Moon". I like it very much, too. Recently most big budget sci-fi movies are not so interesting. Recent two "Star Wars" s were disappointed for me. They were too noisy and too long. I prefer small ones with a good idea and by good composition. Sam Rockwell was very good as you mentioned.

 私は「月に囚われた男」は見ています。私もまた、この映画が大好きです。最近の巨額の費用を投じた「スターウォーズ」2本は、私を失望させました。それらはやかましくてやたらに長い。私はいいアイデアといい構成をした小さなものが好きです。サム・ロックウェルはあなたが言うように素晴らしいです。

And also I like silence and stylish sic-fi movies like "Oblivion", "Gattaca", "2001: A Space Odyssey", etc. I think good stylish movies are always stylish. Of course they are old as a fashion. But good design is always good. "Les Demoiselles de Rochefort" and "The Thomas Crown Affaire" always entertain my eyes.

 そしてまた、私は「オブリビオン」、「ガタカ」「2001年宇宙の旅」のような静かでスタイリッシュなSF映画も大好きです。私はスタイリッシュな映画はいつでもスタイリッシュだと思っています。もちろん、それらはファッッションとしては古い。しかし、いいデザインはいつでもいいデザインです。「ロシュフォールの恋人たち」と「華麗なる賭け」はいつでも私の目を楽しませてくれます。

I can't stop talking about movies.

 映画について話しをすると止まらなくなります。

Today I'd like to think about a genre.

 今日は、ジャンルについて考えたいと思います。

Some people insist that there is no genre, there are good works and bad ones. How do you think? I agree half of this opinion. In any genre there are good works and bad works.

 あるひとたちは、ジャンルなんかない、あるのはいい作品と悪い作品だけだ、と言います。どう思いますか?私は、この意見に半分だけ賛成です。どんなジャンルにもいい作品と悪い作品がある。

I think common people move from one genre to another one according his growth. Small children read (see) picture books. When they can read, they read novels with a lot of illustrations or comics. And then when they become an adult, they read novels.

 私は、ふつうの人は自身の成長にあわせてひとつのジャンルから別なジャンルに移動するのだと考えています。小さな子供は絵本を読む(見る)。彼らは読めるようになると、イラストがたくさん入った本か漫画を読むようになります。そして大人になると小説を読む。

Maybe I am an extreme example. When I was in primary school and in junior high school, I was a big fan of comics. But I stopped it when I entered a senior high school. As I told you, I fell in love with sci-fi novels and movies when I was a junior high school student. When I entered a senior high school, I decided to concentrate in study, sports, movies and novels. I stopped comics.

 たぶん私は極端な例だと思います。私は、小学校、中学校のころは漫画の大ファンでした。すでにお話したように、中学校のときにSF小説にはまってしまいました。高校に入学すると同時に私は勉強、スポーツ、映画、そして小説に集中することに決めました。私は漫画をやめました。

Until when I was a senior high school student, I listened pop music like common young people and I listened musical movies records (it's not so common). When I entered a university, I began to listen classical music. I fell in love with it immediately. I felt sympathy for the works of young Brahms and young Mahler. Actually my sympathy for Brahms and Mahler is much deeper than pop music. And I was very curious about what classical music is. There are many composers and there are many many pieces. When I was 20 years old, I could understand Beethoven (except in his late life), Schubert (except piano sonata no. 21), Chopin, etc. But I couldn't understand Mozart and Bach. Of course Mozart's melody is simple and beautiful. But I couldn't understand what he wanted to say. I thought I wouldn't be able to understand Bach in my whole life.

 高校生のころまでは、ふつうの若い子と同じようにポップ・ミュージックを聴いていました。そしてこれはあんまりふつうじゃないかもしれませんが、ミュージカルのレコードを聴いていました。大学に入った時、私はクラシック音楽を聴き始めました。私は瞬く間に恋に落ちてしまいました。私は若いブラームス、若いマーラーに深い共感を覚えました。実際、私のブラームスやマーラーに対する共感は、ポップ・ミュージックよりはるかに深いものでした。そして私はクラシック音楽とは何かについて興味を持ちました。たくさんの作曲家がいて、たくさんの曲がある。私が20歳の時、(後期を除く)ベートーヴェン、(ピアノ・ソナタ21番を除く)シューベルト、ショパンなどは十分理解できました。しかし、モーツァルトとバッハは理解できませんでした。もちろんモーツァルトのメロディはシンプルで美しい。でも、彼が何が言いたいのかわからない。バッハは一生わからないんじゃないかとさえ思いました。

There were many pieces that I couldn't understand. But it interested me. I thought I would understand them according my growth. It was correct.

 私がわからない曲がたくさんある。しかし、それが私の興味を引きました。私は、それらが私の成長にあわせて理解できるようになるんじゃないかと考えました。それは正解でした。

When I began to listen classical music, I stopped popular music completely. I had no time to listen it. Is it extreme, isn't it?

 私はクラシック音楽を聴き始めて、ポピュラー音楽を完全にやめてしまいました。私にはそれを聴いている時間がありませんでした。極端ですよね?

When I entered senior high school, I stopped TV drama. At that time I have already known that life time is not enough to do everything. I chose movies.

 私は高校に入る時、テレビ・ドラマをやめました。その当時、私は人生の時間はすべてをやれるほど長くはないということに気がついていました。私は映画を選びました。

I think now my life is too extreme.

 私は、今は私の人生は極端だと思います。

When TV series of Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" finished, I will try to see it.

 スティーヴン・キングの「ダークタワー」シリーズが完結したら、ためしに見てみます。

It's a small thing, isn't it? But for me it's a big problem.

 これは小さなことですよね?しかし、私には大問題です。

Some weeks ago I saw an Indian film "3 Idiots" (2009) by Rajkumar Hirani. I enjoyed it very much. It's a little bit too long. But it's a comedy with suspense, mystery and music (Indian movie). I felt the deepest emotion. If you haven't seen it, you should try.

 数週間前、私はライクマール・ヒラニのインド映画「きっと、うまくいく」(2009)を見ました。とても楽しむことができました。少々長すぎではありますが。しかし、サスペンスありミステリーあり、音楽のある(インド映画です)コメディです。私は深く感動しました。もしまだ見てないなら、ぜひお勧めです。

Miyayama

宮山


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page