top of page

Best movie in 2018


Dear Po,

親愛なるポー

I haven’t written to you for long time. How are you?

ご無沙汰してましたが、いかがですか?

Last year I stayed in hospital for seven times. I couldn’t write you. I’m sorry. But last some months I saw many movies and read even in hospital. I suppose my condition becomes better.

去年は7回も入院してしまいました。書けなくてごめんなさい。しかし、この数ヶ月は入院中でもたくさんの映画を見、本も読んでいます。

My best movie in 2018 is Edward Yang’s “A Brighter Summer Day” without doubt. It’s one of my best movies in my life. The theme is heavy. But the movie itself is very fresh and beautiful. We can feel there was a real life.

私の2018年のベスト映画は、なんといっても、エドワード・ヤンの「クーリンチェ少年殺人事件」です。これは私の人生のベストの1本です。テーマはとても重い。しかし、映画自体はとても新鮮で美しい。私たちはそこにリアルな人生があると感じることができます。

I’m sure Edward Yang and Hou Hsiao Hsien are a big master.

私は、エドワード・ヤンと侯孝賢は巨匠だと思います。

As you know I like Hou Hsiao Hsien’s “A Summer of Grandpa’s” very much. And I like Edward Yang’s “YiYi: One and Two” very much, too. I was it when I was a student. When I told it to Mr. Liao, he told me the background of the movie. At that time he taught in Tsukuba University. We went to movies very often.

あなたもご存知のように私は侯孝賢の「冬冬の夏休み」が大好きです。そしてまたエドワード・ヤンの「ヤンヤン夏の思い出」も大好きです。私がこの映画を見た時、私は学生でした。作品について廖先生に話したところその映画の周辺について話してくれました。当時、廖先生は筑波大学で教えていて、私たちはよくいっしょに映画に行きました。

And also I must remember Ang Lee, of course. I like “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”. I saw it many times.

そして、アン・リーを忘れるわけにはいきません。「グリーン・ディスティニー」は何度も見ています。

About new movies “Three billboard” is my favorite one, too.

新しい映画については「スリー・ビルボード」が良かったです。

In 2018 I seldom went to the movie theater, as I stayed in hospital very often. So I can’t remember good movies. But I saw many DVDs.

2018年は、私はしょっちゅう入院していたので、あまり映画館に行けませんでした。これは、という映画にはあまり出会えませんでした。しかしDVDはたくさん見ました。

I saw “Brimstone”, “The Killing of a Sacred Deer”, “Manchester by the Sea”. All of them are a masterpiece. Most of films you recommended are very interesting. I don’t know how you get good information. But when you find a good film, inform me. Your information is much better than newspapers.

「ブリムストーン」、「聖なる鹿殺し」、「マンチェスター・バイ・ザ・シー」、どれも素晴らしかったです。あなたが紹介してくれる映画のほとんどがとても面白い。あなたはどうやっていい情報を手に入れるのでしょう。いい映画を見たら教えてください。あなたの情報は新聞よりはるかに信用できます。

Do you like François Ozon? His movies are often experimental. Sometimes some of them are not interesting. But I always have an interest what kind movie he makes.

あなたはフランソワ・オゾンは好きですか?彼の映画は時々実験的すぎることがあります。ときには面白くないときもあります。しかし、私は彼がどんな映画を作るのかいつも興味を持っています。

Last year I saw “Frantz” and “L’Amant Double”. I like “Frantz” very much. It’s classical, mysterious and elegant. It seems like François Truffaut. I suppose you enjoy “L’Amant Double”

去年私は「婚約者の友人」と「2重螺旋の恋人」を見ました。私は「婚約者の友人」が大好きです。とてもクラシカルでミステリアスでエレガントです。フランソワ・トリュフォーを思い出させます。私は、あなたは「2重螺旋の恋人」が気に入るんじゃないかと思います。

Recently I’m conscious history and geography.

最近、私は歴史と地理に興味を持っています。

Some months ago I read a critical biography of a Turkish composer pianist Fazil Say. It was very interesting. In Japan Say has many fans including me. But we merely think Turkish pianist is rare. But Say has a big problem. Turkey is a Muslim country.

数ヶ月前トルコの作曲家兼ピアニスト、ファジル・サイの評伝を読みました。それはとても興味深いものでした。日本でも私を含め多くのファンがいます。しかし私たちはたんにトルコのピアニストというのは珍しいなあくらいにしか思っていませんでした。しかしサイ自身には大きな問題があります。

This problem is much bigger than my image. Officially Muslim doesn’t permit Western classical music. And sometimes the radicals are dangerous.

この問題は、私たちが想像している以上に大きいものです。公にはイスラム教は西洋のクラシック音楽を認めていません。ときには過激派は危険でもあります。

But he never stops classical music. And he often speaks his political position, though he knows very well it’s dangerous.

しかし彼はクラシック音楽をけっしてやめません。そして彼は危険であることを承知しながら政治的な彼の立場についてしばしば発言しているようです。

And also classical music itself is dangerous now. I have quite few friends who listen classical music for their life. For them including me classical music gives us energy for life.

そしてまた、今はクラシック音楽自体が危ない。私には、クラシック音楽を自身の人生の糧として聴いている友人はほんの少ししかいません。私を含め彼らにとってクラシック音楽は生きるためのエネルギーを与えてくれるものです。

But we don’t have new classical music. Of course there are many composers who insist they are the right contemporary classical composer. If art history develops like science and technology, it may be correct. But common people don’t need contemporary music and art.

しかし、今新しいクラシック音楽は供給されることはありません。もちろん、自分たちは正当なクラシック音楽の後継者だと主張する作曲家はたくさんいます。もし、芸術が科学技術と同じように進歩発展するものなら彼らの主張は正しいのかもしれません。しかし今日のふつうの人は現代美術も現代音楽も必要とはしていません。

After Picasso and after Schonberg the most important thing is concept. As I wanted be a contemporary artist when I was young, I studied contemporary art and music. I can understand them better than common people. But I don’t want them, as they are not interesting.

ピカソとシェーンベルグ以降、最も重要になったのはコンセプトです。私は若いころ現代美術家になりたいと思っていたので、現代美術も現代音楽も勉強しました。私は、ふつうの人よりはそれらを理解できると思います。しかし今は、それらは全然ほしくありません。なぜならそれらは面白くないからです。

Fazil Say composes many pieces. They are interesting.

ファジル・サイは多くの曲を書いています。それらは面白いです。

Fazil Say tries to be an ideal artist in current age. I must consider my position as a correct artist historically and geographically.

ファジル・サイは同時代のあるべきアーティストになろうとしています。私は歴史的にも地理的にも正当なアーティストとして自身の立ち位置について考えなければいけないと思います。

Next time I will consider history and geography.

次回は、歴史と地理についてすこし考えてみたいと思います。


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page