top of page

Movies-2 映画−2


Dear Po,

 親愛なるポー

Last month I had to be hospitalized for around 10 days. And then I must stay calm for a while.

 先月は10日ほど入院をしなくてはなりませんでした。それから私は静かにしていなければならなくなりました。

At last I find time to write about movies.

 やっと映画について書く時間ができました。

Firstly I must inform that I finished reading Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" consists of 7,000 pages. I feel I finished a very long journey with the hero and friends. If you have time and courage, I recommend to try it.

And yesterday I saw the movie "The Dark Tower". It's not bad. The movie has an another charm. If you read the original novel, you can enjoy the movie more.

 まず私は、7,000ページのスティーヴン・キングの「ダークタワー」を読み終えたことをお知らせします。主人公と仲間たちとの長い旅をいっしょに終えた感じです。もしあなたに時間と勇気があるなら試してみることを勧めます。そして昨日、映画版の「ダークタワー」を見てきました。悪くはないです。映画には別な魅力がありました。もしあなたがオリジナルの小説を読んでいれば、映画はより楽しめるものになっていると思います。

Last month "Brimstone " was showed in a small cinema in Shibuya only for two or three weeks. It was difficult for me to go there. Maybe I can see it by DVD soon. I saw the trailer. The atmosphere is like Stephen King's. I'm looking forward to seeing it.

 先月、「ブリムストーン」が渋谷の小さな映画館でほんの2、3週間だけ公開されました。今の私にはそこまで行くのは厳しいです。たぶんDVDで見ることになると思います。予告編は見ました。雰囲気はスティーヴン・キングに似た感じですね。楽しみです。

Last year I saw many old movies by DVD, as I couldn't go out. But I found there are many good movies in 60' in Hollywood.

 去年は出かけられないので、DVDで古い映画をたくさん見ました。

I mention four favorite movies, "Rio Bravo", "The Big Country", "On the Beach" and “Funny Face".

 お気に入りが4本あります。「リオ・ブラボー」、「大いなる西部」、「渚にて」、それと「パリの恋人」です。

"Rio Bravo" was made by Howard Hawks. First of all it makes us happy. If we look for the details, there are some problems. But Mr. Hawks didn't explain them too much. For example John Wayne played a character with crazy persistence very often like "Red River" and "The Searchers"(John Ford). The reason is simple. Adults know it very much. They never treat it as a sick.

 「リオ・ブラボー」はハワード・ホークスです。何よりもそれは私たちを幸せな気分にしてくれます。もし細かいところを探せばいくつか問題があります。しかし、ハワード・ホークスはそれらを説明しすぎることはありません。たとえばジョン・ウェインは気違いじみた執念を燃やす役をしばしば演じてます。たとえば「赤い河」やジョン・フォードの「捜索者」のような。理由は簡単です。大人たちはそれをよく知っているからです。彼らはそれを病気だとは扱っていません。

"The Big Country" is the most favorite for me. All characters even bad guys had big scale. I think the title must be "Big Men in the Big Country". I'm sure the hero Gregory Peck is a kind of ideal man for adults.

 「大いなる西部」は私のもっともお気に入りです。すべての登場人物、悪役でさえ大きなスケールです。タイトルは「大いなる男たちと大いなる西部」にすべきじゃないかと思います。主人公のグレゴリー・ペックは大人の理想の男なんじゃないかと思います。

"One the Beach" I saw it on TV when I was a high school student maybe 13 or 14 years old. I was very shocked that people were very calm just before finishing the world. Now I think it's real. The reason is in 50's the world was managed by adults. As soon as I saw it, I read the original novel by Nevil Shute. Now I don't remember well. But I remember Gregory Peck was my hero at that time.

 「渚にて」は、私が中学校時代、たぶん13歳か14歳のころテレビで見ています。私は、世界が滅ぶという直前に人々が平静なことにショックを受けました。今は、それがリアルなんじゃないかと思います。理由は、50年台は大人が社会を運営していたからです。私はそれを見てからすぐにネヴィル・シュートの原作を読みました。今は細かいところはよく覚えていません。ただグレゴリー・ペックは当時の私のヒーローでした。

Recently I saw "Twelve O'clock High". It's the first time for me. It's also interesting. Until last year I believed Mr. Peck had a nice looking but his performance wasn't so rich. It was a big mistake.

 最近、「頭上の敵機」を見ました。これは初めてです。これも面白かった。ほんの去年まで、私はグレゴリー・ペックは外見はいいけど、演技はそれほどでもないと思ってました。おおきな間違いです。

When I was a high school student from "On the Beach" I read many good SF novels like "Solaris", "1984" "Wonderful New World", "Planet of the Apes" and "A Princess of Mars", etc. So I like SF novels and movies very much. It continues until today except recent Marvel Comic's movies.

 中学校のときに「渚にて」から私は「ソラリス」、「1984」、「素晴らしき新世界」、「猿の惑星」、そして「火星のプリンセス」などのたくさんのSF小説を読んできました。私はSF小説や映画が大好きです。それは、最近のマーヴェルコミックを除いて続いています。

And "Funny Face"! How beautiful! How elegant! How happy!

 そして「パリの恋人」!なんてきれいなんでしょう。なんてエレガントな。なんて幸せか。

There is a problem. Difference of age between Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire is too big. But it's a small problem. The story is happy. Music is lovely. DANCE is very beautiful and elegant. Audrey Hepburn is a muse.

 ひとつだけ問題があります。オードリー・ヘップバーンとフレッド・アステアの年齢差がありすぎです。しかし、それは小さな問題にすぎません。ストーリーはハッピー。音楽はすてき。ダンスはとてもきれいでエレガントです。オードリー・ヘップバーンは女神です。

Some old people say many musical movies by Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers were wonderful. But it's few chance for us to see old Hollywood master pieces of 30' and 40'. And also it's impossible even for Japanese to see old Japanese masterpieces.

 昔の人にはフレッド・アステアとジンジャー・ロジャースのミュージカルが素晴らしかったと言います。しかし1930年台、40年台のハリウッドの名作を見るのは難しいです。そして日本の昔の名作を見るのも難しい。

I think "La, La Land" is an homage to "Les Demoiselles de Rochefort" and "Les Parapluies de Cherbourg". Especially "Les Demoiselles de Rochefort" is important, as the music by Micheal Legrand is rich and the story is happy.

 私は「ラ・ラ・ランド」は「ロシュフォールの恋人たち」と「シェルブールの雨傘」へのオマージュだと思ってます。とくに「ロシュフォールの恋人たち」は、ミシェル・ルグランの音楽が豊かでストーリーがハッピーなので、とくに重要だと思います。

"Les Demoiselle de Rochefort" is one of the most favorite musical movie for me. It is an homage to 30' and 40' Hollywood musicals. Is it interesting?

 「ロシュフォールの恋人たち」は、私にとって最高のお気に入りの1本です。これは30年台、40年台のハリウッドのミュージカルへのオマージュになっています。面白いと思いませんか?

I continue to see musical movies from childhood.

 私は子供のときからミュージカル映画を見続けています。

SF and musical are two big streams in movie history. They live even today. But Western drama is almost dead. In Japan we don't have tradition neither SF nor musical. And Samurai drama is completely dead.

 SFとミュージカルは映画の歴史のなかでふたつのおおきな流れです。それらは今日でも生きています。しかし西部劇はほとんど滅んでいます。日本にはSFとミュージカルの伝統を持っていません。そして時代劇は完全に滅んでしまっています。

"Rio Bravo", "The Big Country", "On the Beach" and "Funny Face" have a same element. Do you find it? These movies made for adults. And also adults can see them with their children.

 「リオ・ブラボー」、「大いなる西部」、「渚にて」そして「パリの恋人」、それらには同じ要素があります。わかります?これらの映画は大人のために作られているということです。そしてまた、大人はそれらを子供といっしょに見ることができます。

I wrote a lot. I will write. I have many things to say about movies. Give me your opinion.

 たくさん書いてしまいました。また書きます。映画についてはまだまだたくさん話したいことがたくさんあります。あなたの意見をください。

Miyayama

宮山

I can’t find an email that I asked Po to put our email on my blog. His answer was OK. Look the following.

 ポーに私たちの映画についてのやりとりをホームページのブログに載せてもいいかときいたメールが見つかりません。彼の返事はOKでした。以下を見てください。

Dear Miyayama San:

親愛なる宮山さん

First of all, it is my pleasure to have my info on you home page. I would not turn down a fun movie discussion and to be part of it. Thank you very much for the invitation.

 まず、私のメールがあなたのホームページに載るということはうれしいことです。映画についての話し合いとその一部になれることをやめたくはありません。

I love musical! "La La Land" was such a bless. I was lucky to attend couple of musical performances while I was studying in New York. One thing about the musical movies though, once you saw a live performance, you would think the movie is not enough. But don't get me wrong, I still like musicals, just that I would like it better if it plays on a stage theater.

 私はミュージカルが大好きです。「ラ・ラ・ランド」は祝福です。私はニューヨークで勉強しているときに、ミュージカルに数回参加することができました。ひとつはミュージカル映画で、もうひとつはライブでした。あなたがミュージカルが好きなら映画だけでは不十分ですよ。でも間違ってとらえないでください。私はミュージカルすべてが好きです。もし劇場で生のミュージカルが見られればそっちのほうがいいって思うだけです。

"Dark Tower" should be on DVD soon here in Taiwan, I would give it a look. Speaking of sci-fi, I think I'm a "Star War" and "Back to the Future" generation. I remember how shocked and amazed by it when I was a kid and really surprised that the school teaches nothing about it. Among all the science in the movie, I think it taught me more about accepting and discovering. Seeing is believing, accepting everything, embracing the differences and there are always more than you know. I think it is the culture of sci-fi that interests me, that explains why I was bad in science but happens to be a sci-fi fan, how funny is that!

 「ダークタワー」はここ台湾でもDVDになると思います。見てみます。SFについて言えば、私は「スターウォーズ」や「バック・トゥ・ザ・フューチャー」の世代です。私は子供のときにそれらを見てびっくりしたのを覚えています。また学校の先生たちがそれらについて何の話もなかったことに驚きました。SF映画を通じて科学を受け入れること発見することを学んだと思います。百聞は一見にしかず、あらゆるものを受け入れること、異なることを受け入れること、あなたが知っていること以上の物事があること。私はこれこそが私に興味を持たせるSF文化だと思います。だからこそ科学が苦手な私がSFファンになれるのです。おかしいですね。

In high school, my English teacher asked us to read "Planet of the Apes" and "1984," it really changed me. First of all, I would never had a chance to read these novels in Taiwan because teachers don't tell students to read anything other than text books. Secondly, I was never encouraged in be a rebellion! I had so many questions at the time while reading them and thankfully I had a teacher with patience, who was willing to have long discussions with a confused teenage boy.

 高校時代、英語の先生は「猿の惑星」と「1984」を読むことを勧めてくれました。それは私をほんとうに変えました。まず、先生たちは教科書以外の本について話をしてくれませんでしたし、台湾でそれらの小説を読む機会がなかったからです。第二に、私は反抗期でしたし。私にはそれらを読んでいるときたくさんの質問がありました。ありがたいことに私には混乱した10代の子供と辛抱強く議論をしてくれる先生がいました。

As I grew older, I was into drama and I have to agree with you that drama is dead in Hollywood. "Moonlight," "No Country for Old Men," "Manchester by the Sea," "The killing of a Sacred Deer" and "The Ballad of Lefty Brown " are the ones that pop in my head for recent years. "The Ballad of Lefty Brown" reminds me of the old western movies, which I don't think people enjoys that much these days. Loyalty and friendship, they used to be more important than cell phones. "Moon 2009" is also a sci-fi drama I had to mention. I like that film so much as that I think Sam Rockwell should win an Oscar many years ago!

 年齢を重ねるにしたがってドラマに入り込んでいくわけですが、ハリウッドのドラマが死んでしまっているというあなたの意見には賛成しないわけにはいきません。「ムーンライト」、「No Country for Old Men」、「マンチェスター・バイ・ザ・シー」、「The killing of a Sacred Dee」、そして「The Ballad of Lefty Brown」などがここ数年の間に私の心に残った作品です。「The Ballad of Lefty Brown」は昔の西部劇を思い出させます。今日の人々を楽しませるものではないかもしれませんが。誠実さと友情、それらは携帯電話よりもはるかに重要なものでした。「月に囚われた男」は私がSFドラマとして言及したい1本です。私はこの映画が大好きで、主演のサム・ロックウェルはオスカーを取ってしかるべきだったと思っています。

I really enjoyed the old films that you recommended, even though I have not see most of them yet. But doing side research is good enough for me to pass some time already. I used to print Audrey Hepburn's pictures out of a printer to post them on the wall because the posters are not cheap. Now I think it's even harder to find one in Taiwan.

 私はあなたが推薦してくれた昔の映画をほんとうに楽しんでします。まだいくつも見ていないものがありますが。しかし周辺を探してみることもとても楽しいものです。私はかつてオードリー・ヘップバーンの写真をプリントアウトして壁に貼っていたことがあります。彼女のポスターは高価なんで。今、台湾ではそれらを見つけるのは大変だと思います。

As you can see, it is not easy to stop when I talk about movies as well. But I had to give it (or you!) a rest I suppose. Crime drama is another section I like very much, so i should start there the next time. It's been a cold winter and it is great to see you had a little trip. Get well and hope to see you in near future.

 ご覧の通り、私も映画の話を始めるとなかなか終えることができません。しかしこれはあなたにとって休養になってもらえればと思います。犯罪ドラマは私のもうひとつの好きなジャンルです。次回はこれから始められればいいと思っています。お大事に。近々お会いしましょう。

p.s. If you may, please send me the address of the blog you were talking about. I have the one you talk about printmaking, not sure if you would put movies on the same blog. Thank you.

 追伸:よろしければあなたのブログのアドレスを教えてくれますか・私はあなたが版画についてお話しされているのを見たと思うのですが確実ではありません。そこと同じブログにこの映画についての話を載せてもらえればと思います。ありがとうございます。

Po

ポー


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page