top of page

Movies-3 映画−3


Dear Po,

親愛なるポー

Have you received the following email on April 4. I found it in drafts.

 あなたは4月4日付けの以下のメールを受け取りましたか?たまたま下書きを見つけました。

In the end of January and the end of February I had to stay in hospital with a drip. And in the end of March I had high fever and I went to the hospital. At that time the doctor checked my condition and gave me some medicines. I didn't need to stay there. As I was in good condition, I moved too much. Now I do something slowly even if they are important for me.

 1月末と2月末、私は点滴のために入院をしなくてはなりませんでした。そして3月にも高熱を出したので病院に行きましたが、この時は診察して、薬をもらうだけで入院しないですみました。体調のいい時に、私は動きすぎるようです。たとえ重要なことであっても、今はゆっくり行うことが重要です。

Your opinion is very interesting. I agree most of them. But some of them give me a chance to consider an important problem.

 あなたの意見はとても面白いです。多くに賛成です。またいくつかは私に重要な問題を考える機会を与えてくれます。

One of them is TV. Basically I don't see TV dramas. I'm afraid that they spend a long time and they make me TV addiction.

 そのひとつがテレビです。基本的に、私は、テレビドラマは見ません。長い時間を奪われますし、中毒にもなりたくない。

I regard TV is a media for children and old people. It's not for adults. When we are baby, we see picture books. When we enter a primary school, we read comics. We leave from picture books. When I entered a senior high school, I stopped comics to concentrate in novels. As I told you I read many SF novels and classical books like 川端康成Yasunari Kawabata, 三島由紀夫Yukio Mishima and Shakespeare.

 私は、テレビは子供と年寄りのものだと思っています。それは大人のメディアだとは思えません。私たちは赤ん坊のころ絵本を見ます。小学校に入れば漫画を読むようになります。絵本からは離れます。中学校に入った時、私は漫画をやめて小説に集中するようになりました。お話したように、私はたくさんのSF小説や古典的な小説、川端康成や三島由紀夫、シェークスピアをたくさん読みました。

About music it's almost same. When I entered an university, I found classical music. Until then I enjoyed popular music (like common young people) and musical numbers (not like common). But when I entered into the big forest of classical music, I didn't need popular music and musical records any more.

 音楽についても同じことが言えます。私は大学に入ったころ、クラシック音楽を発見しました。それまではふつうの若い子たちと同様にポピュラー音楽を聴いていました。そして同時に、これはあんまりふつうじゃないかもしれませんが、ミュージカル・ナンバーを聴いていました。しかし、いったんクラシック音楽の巨大な森に入ってしまうと、ポピュラー音楽もミュージカルのレコードもまったく必要にならなくなってしまいました。

About TV it's a little bit complicated. When TV appeared in my family, I had already seen many movies in movie theaters nearby. Of course I was excited about Japanese hero's dramas and American Western dramas like "Rawhide". From then until today Clint Eastwood is always my hero. It's more than 60 years! But I entered junior high school, I stopped TV dramas to concentrate in movies.

 テレビについては多少問題が複雑です。我が家にテレビが登場した時、私はすでに近所の映画館でたくさんの映画を見ていました。もとろん、私は日本のヒーローものやアメリカの「ローハイド」といった西部劇に夢中でした。この時から今日にいたるまでクリント・イーストウッドはずっと私のヒーローでい続けています。60年もですよ。しかし私は中学校に入った時、映画に集中するためにテレビドラマはやめにしました。

I know American TV drama series are not bad. And many movies today are garbage. Especially there is quite few entertainment movie for adults. So I see old movies.

 私はアメリカのテレビのドラマシリーズが悪いものではないことを知っています。そして今日の多くの映画がゴミばかりという現実があります。とくに大人のための娯楽映画がきわめて少ない。そこで、私は昔の映画を見るわけです。

A few days Ago I saw "Sicario". It's amazing and exciting. I enjoyed it very much. But It's 70% art and 30% entertainment. Good classical movies are 70% entertainment and 30% art.

 数日前、私は「ボーダーライン」を見ました。それは驚異で興奮させられるものでした。とても楽しむことができました。しかし、それは70%芸術、30%娯楽だと思います。よい映画は70%娯楽で30%芸術だと思います。

I know "The Dark Tower" will be made mainly for TV. Frankly speaking I wonder what I should do.

 私は「ダークタワー」がおもにテレビ用として作られるということを知っています。正直言って、どうしようか迷っています。

Miyayama

宮山

Dear Miyayama San,

 親愛なる宮山さん

I do not think I have got your previous e-mail which was written on April 4th. But I would love to read it if you still have the draft.

 あなたの4月4日付けの前回のメールは受け取ってないと思います。しかし、それが原稿だとしても楽しく読ませてもらいました。

Sounds like you were too much in a hurry! If I remembered correctly, it was still snowing around late March in Japan. The weather had became so unpredictable in recent years, it was one day like summer and winter the other. Please take care of yourself.

 あなたは急ぎすぎに思えますよ。私の記憶が正しければ、日本は3月末にまだ雪が降っていましたね。ここ数年天気は予想しにくくなっていますよね。ある日は夏のようになり、別な日には冬のようになったり。ご自愛ください。

I was not allowed to watch too much TV when I was a kid, so 30 mins of cartoon and the news channel were the only thing I could watch growing up. The very first TV drama that completely got my attention was "The X-Files," (If ウルトラマン “Ultraman” doesn't count!). I watched the re-runs when I was about 16 in the US, not only it was interesting but also is a way to learn English for me. Of course, "The Simpsons" and the sitcoms were the big influences to understand and adopt the American culture at the time. The positive side about it was they were only 30 mins per day and I don't need to follow every episode to understand the show.

 私が子供のころはたくさんの時間テレビを見ることは許されませんでした。大きくなるまで私は30分のアニメかニュースしか見ていません。私が最初に本格的にテレビドラマにはまったのは「Xファイル」(もし「ウルトラマン」を数に入れなければ)です。16歳の時にアメリカでその再放送を見た時には、面白いというだけでなく英語の勉強にもなりました。もちろん「シンプソンズ」やお笑いは、当時のアメリカの文化を理解して受け入れるのに大きな影響を受けたと思います。1日30分しか見られなかったことのいい面は、番組を理解するのにすべてのエピソードは必要なくなったということです。

Glad that you mentioned Clint Eastwood because I was going to talk about him at some point. The only differences is that I was more about the films that he directed, as I was not able to watch all of his earlier western movies beside the classic ones. "Gran Torino," "Million Dollar Baby," "Trouble with the Curve" and "Blood Work" were the ones that I am familiar with. But like you said, they are 70% art, 30% entertaining. But i enjoyed them very much because the topics are not too far away from everyday life. Sort of help me seeing things from different point of views.

 あなたがクリント・イーストウッドに言及してくれたおかげで、私はかれについての話をしたいと思います。私が彼について語るのに唯一の違いは私は彼の初期の西部劇やクラシックな作品を見ることができていないということです。「グラントリノ」、「ミリオンダラー・ベイビー」、「人生の特等席」、「ブラドワーク」などは身近なものです。しかし、あなたが言うように言えばそれらは70%アートで30%娯楽だと思います。しかし、話が日常生活から離れていないので、私はそれらをとても楽しめました。異なった視点から物事を見ることのある種の助けになっていると思います。

I read couple of novels by坂口安吾Ango Sakaguchi in my mid-twenties, they took me a long time to swallow. After that, i decided that 三島由紀夫 Yukio Mishima can wait... I have to be mentally prepared, some day I'll be grown, I'm speaking to myself... On the other hand, I started to watch 北野武Takeshi Kitano's films soon after that. Other than the Hong Kong Gangster movies I grew up with, I felt 北野武's films leave the space for the audiences to judge, which is a bit similar to 坂口安吾, in my point of view. So I figured, I probably need to stop and to be cheered up at some point. I was into 漫才(comic duo) for a little bit because of my ex-girlfriend and just recently, one of

my Japanese high school friend visited me in Taiwan and told me about "能"(“No” one of the traditional theater drama) I only got to know the simple introduction of it because my friend told me that he's still trying to figure it out.

 私は20代中頃に数冊の坂口安吾を読みましたが、それらを飲み込むには長い時間がかかりました。その後、私は三島由紀夫が待っているときめました。私自身のことではありますが、いつかの成長のためには精神的な準備が必要だと考えています。一方それらの後に、私は北野武の映画を見はじめました。私がともに育ってきた香港のギャング映画に対して、北野武の映画には坂口安吾に似た観客が判断するスペースがあるように私には思えました。そこで私は、私には立ち止まって、いくつかの点で励まされる必要があるのではないかと考えました。以前のガールフレンドの影響もあって私は漫才の世界に入っていきました。そしてまたつい最近、日本人の高校時代の友人が台湾に来て「能」について話をしてくれました。彼はその簡単に意味を紹介してくれてどんな感じか教えてくれました。

The funny thing is that, out of all the Japanese, I got to know 2 friends who used to live and was from Sado Island. When I attended to my friend's wedding there, the customs in Hanada Airport couldn't understand why a Taiwanese tourist would like to go to Sado. I had to show them the wedding invitation to prove that I wasn't a drifter, so they don't have to worry about looking for my body in the near future.

 日本でのおかしなことがありました。私には佐渡出身で今も暮らし続ける2人の友人がいます。彼らの結婚式に参列するために、羽田空港の税関を通る時、彼らは台湾の旅行者がなんで佐渡に行くのか理解できないようでした。私は彼らの招待状を見せて放浪者じゃないことを証明しなくてはなりませんでした。まあ彼らにしてみれば、近い将来私を探す心配はなくなったわけですが。

Back to the TV conversation, I won't count TV out of the interests because I believe some stories are worth more than 2 hours in the big screen. The way I watch TV dramas is to wait until they are all released. By doing this, I can pick up whenever I want and wouldn't be too attached to the TV. Maybe you should give it a try for "The Dark Tower." And of course, I still watch sitcoms now and then. It has become a hobby of mine to release pressure, 30 mins is all I need to be at the happy land. 70% entertainment and 30% of art is a very interesting point, I never thought of that! It would give me a whole new taste of movies for a while.

 テレビに話を戻しましょう。私は私の興味からテレビは勘定に入れないつもりです。なぜならいくつかのストーリーは大きなスクリーンで見る2時間以上付き合う価値があるからです。私がテレビ・ドラマを見るのはそれらが公開されるのを待つ手段としてです。こうすると私が必要な時だけを選ぶことができるので、長いじかんテレビに縛りつけられないですみます。あなたは「ダークタワー」を試してみるべきです。そしてもちろん私は今もこれからもシチェーション・コメディは見るつもりです。これは私の30%の幸福を得るためのレラックスのための趣味のじかんです。70%の娯楽30%のアートという考え方はとても面白い視点だと思います。私はそんなふうには考えたことはありませんでした。それは私にまったく新しい映画のみかたをしばらくのあいだあたえてくれそうです。

Thank you very much. Meanwhile, please take care and live slow.

ありがとうございます。同時にご自愛ください。ゆっくり生きてください。

Po

ポー


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page